Skip to content

Happy New Year…

February 22, 2011

New Year resolutions? I stopped making those a long time ago. Don’t get me wrong, I love all the other traditions that lead up to this time of year. From October the 1st, the shops start stocking up on Christmas cards and wrapping paper and my mate Martin sends me texts messages on how many days are left before the big day.

Then, straight after Guy Fawkes Night, (not such a fan to be honest), we are bombarded by celebrity chefs, Jamie, Nigella, Delia and Heston ramming two tons of fat filled food down our necks… so far so good.

We then have that lull in-between to polish off the leftovers, before we reach the final day of the year. Here we have the chance to top up our booze content, as we countdown to midnight. This is swiftly followed by everyone yelling, ‘Happy New Year’, while popping party poppers, clinking a glass of champagne or a can of beer (depending on your preference) and of course singing the first two lines of Auld Lang Syne, which inevitably peter off to a few ‘la la la la’s’. This is then swiftly followed by everyone chucking themselves around the dance floor, before collapsing into the nearest chair/ hedge/ lap of a stranger; (delete as appropriate)…or should that be inappropriate?   

And what follows? The tradition of making New Year Resolutions. What sadist thought of that? Anne Widdecombe? After all that pleasure, we are quickly made to feel guilt ridden by a rash of z-list celebrities, flogging their get fit DVD’s, while telling us to ‘feel the burn.’ I can well imagine they made these recording long before they sat down to their festive filling. If this wasn’t bad enough, our guilt is further compounded by the rash of holiday deals where it would seem only the body beautiful are allowed to go.

So while that booze and mince pie sits heavy in our tummies, we feel obliged to tell who ever will listen, that we will promise to eat less, drink less and join a gym. All of which usually goes out of the window by January 2nd.

These days I tend to worry a little less about such things. Rather than loading myself down with half felt pledges, I tell myself to take a step back and think about what I have already achieved, and where I’d like to be this time next year.

As I slip into the first month, I promise to looking out for my mates, to take care of my health, to help out where I can, in whatever form that may take, and to ensure that by the end of the year, I have a good couple of handfuls of fun filled memories to look back on. That way I find myself actually enjoying seeing in the New Year and all that it may bring in the months ahead.

 Happy New Year: 2011!

All comments welcome.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

